Skip to content

10 Items You Should Have in Your Wardrobe

July 3, 2012

Scarves You can really never have too many scarves. They come in a million different patterns, shapes and sizes and they are possibly the most fun you can have dressing up the most basic of outfits. White t-shirt and jeans? Loop a brightly colored scarf around your neck and suddenly you’ve got a killer outfit.

Skirts I recommend at least two skirts. Try to get a variety of lengths. Long, flowy skirts are fun for carefree, easy days, knee length or tea length are more formal and can work in a pinch for just about any situation. Job interview, church, date night, weddings… Or, grocery shopping…

High Heels I recommend a nude heel. They are neutral enough to go with everything, super dressy and make your legs look longer and leaner then they are.  (Now ask me if I own a pair of nude heels. I do not. Thank you for asking. I like these ones in the picture. I wear a 7 1/2 by the way, if anyone was wondering.)

Sun Dress A good sun dress will be your best friend in the summer. Easy to throw on and they always look good by themselves. No accessories necessary. But, feel free to accessorize. Accessories are fun.

White Blouse Instant classic. Just make sure you iron it, ok?

A Statement Necklace If you only own one necklace make it a simple gold or silver chain, maybe with a tiny embellishment. BUT, if you own two necklaces… Make the other one a statement piece. That way you can throw it on with your plain white blouse and BAM! You will look amazing. Trust me on this.

Colored Purse It’s good to have some nice neutral bags, like black, brown, silver, etc… but, I think it’s fun to have a fun colored bag also. Pick your favorite color and I promise it will brighten your day to carry it around.

A Flowy Top There are days that I have no idea what to wear, no imagination, nothing. Those are the days I wear my flowy tops. Instantly I feel fresh and cool and more artistic than I actually am. It’s like magic.

LBD  I feel like this is obvious, but I’ll say it anyway. The Little Black Dress. The LBD is basically the only wardrobe item that is appropriate to wear to absolutely every single occasion you can ever think up to go to. Ok, maybe not mud wrestling. But, that’s probably it. You can wear an LBD EVERYWHERE. And you will look AMAZING. If you will now look to the left of your screen you will see that I have included a photo of 5,000 LBDs for you to choose from. Have fun. (Ok, so it’s not literally 5,000. I didn’t actually count.)

Dark Wash, Slim Fit Jeans Jeans are a staple of any wardrobe, and you should have some in your favorite fits and washes. But, I recommend owning at least one pair of dark wash, slim fit jeans. They are slimming and more formal than light wash jeans. Put them on with your white blouse and your statement necklace and you’re good to go.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    July 3, 2012 9:30 am

    Oh my, now I feel I should invest in nude shoes…I can’t believe I don’t have some…I did buy these amazing shoes I’ve always dreamed of..gold sparkle pumps for 16 dollars at Macys last week…i should email you a picture, they are crazy….the only crazy pair I own, but quite adore.
    I agree about the black dress and scarves.

    I am slowly investing in statement necklaces. Kohls seems to be where I’ve been finding them as of lately. I’ve had the habit of buying 2 a month. 🙂 It helps having a lot of girls in the house so we can all go in on it and we can engulf ourselves in jewelry. I have been on pinterest a lot looking for a way to set my necklaces up in an cute but inexpensive way…still looking :/

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

