Skip to content

5 Book’s I Judged by their Covers

June 28, 2012

I think we all know we’re not supposed to judge a book by it’s cover. But, we’re all human and most of us are vision oriented and if we weren’t then millions and bajillions of dollars wouldn’t be spent every year on graphics and art work specifically created to capture our interest and inspire us to Buy Things. Cover art for books is no different. The art work on the cover of a book is the result of hours and hours of labor and design work created for the sole purpose of making you judge the book (hopefully favorably) and subsequently plunk down $21.95 for it . Just for fun here’s some of the books that I’ve judged on their covers, for better or worse.

Entwined by Heather Dixon

Ummm… can we just say “Gorgeous”???  Seriously, it doesn’t get more whimsical fairytale than this. I want to be that girl and wear that dress and have her hair and live in that castle. And I want a Prince Charming to come and sweep me off my feet… *sigh* And I really want to read this book again.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barrett

FUN! I remember as a child going through the bookshelves at the library, at the age when ALL the books are judged on their covers and I have a limit of 4 to bring home. This one is quirky and fun on the outside AND the inside. The illustrations are good all through the book, actually. Such fun for kids! (And adults. I still read it. Not gonna lie.)

.

.

.

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare

There’s a reason I had a hard time picking up this book. Creepy, much? I so wish someone would publish this book with a less creepy cover because this book is not creepy at all! It’s beautiful and there isn’t even a witch in it. Just some crazy, narrow minded people who are terrified of witches and see them around every corner. So, the only creepy thing about this book is the cover. Once you open the book you’re fine. (Please don’t count how many times I just used the word creepy.)

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

So, everyone was saying “Read The Help! It’s SOOOO good!” So, being a reader and all that I went to buy a copy. I purposely did NOT buy the Movie Tie-In cover because that’s just too trendy. But, regardless of that, I was immediately drawn to this cover. Here’s the thing: I did not know what this book was about. All anyone would say was that it was “SOOOOO good.” So, I really didn’t know that it was about racial injustice and prejudice, I swear. Until I saw the cover. And it’s all right there. This cover entranced me. I spent 5 minutes just studying the art before I even cracked it. I love the symbolism of the birds, separated. I thought of the scripture verse that talks about God knowing when even a sparrow falls from a tree and I thought about how God loves every one of us, even (and especially) the people that the world looks down on and mistreats. I loved this book just like I knew I would at that first glance at the cover. Well done, cover artists, well done.

.

.

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

I liked the cover of this book. I liked the simplicity and vintage feel of it. I liked the vintage feel so much I actually assumed it WAS vintage. (Might not have helped that my copy was a dilapidated hardcover that I picked up at a used bookstore). I never checked the publication date or anything like that. I just immersed myself in a summer tale of 4 sisters, a dog and an interesting boy in 1940-something. Er,no.They seem to have a lot of modern technologies, this all feels weird… ? Wait. 2000-something. Oops. I had to go back and read the beginning of the book once I realized my mistake. Anyway, once I got that all straightened out and quit rushing ahead of myself, er, behind myself? I enjoyed it immensely. The Penderwicks have become one of my all time favorite literary families. And I do love all the covers of all the books. Even though I still think they look vintage-y at first glance. My mom thinks so too. The other day when I was reading one of them she said “Oh, what book is that? Is it an old book? When was it published?”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 10:05 am

    Okay, THANK you, I have THe Penderwicks sitting on my self, as yet unread, and… I assumed it was a 1940’s-50’s ish type of book. You are not the only one. You just spared me similar future confusion.

    And this is the cover I always knew from TWOBP https://livingintheshadowlands.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/the-witch-of-blackbird-pond.jpg

    And ya wanna know something awesome? I just googles to find that picture and… I found it here. From your earlier TWOBP post. How cool is that?? Your blog is one of the first results!! *grin*

  2. June 28, 2012 11:35 am

    Wow! I didn’t know The Penderwicks books were modern! I think that must be the #1 thing that irks me about book covers in general: when they do not represent their time setting correctly. Historical fiction features girls wearing heavy eye shadow and costumes that are way off and then the books that have a vintage-y feel to them are actually modern.

  3. March 3, 2014 6:32 pm

    wonderful points altogether, you just received a logo neew reader.
    What would you suggest in regards to your publish that
    you just made some dqys in thhe past? Any certain?

  4. March 3, 2014 6:44 pm

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will come back at some point.
    I want to encourage you continue your grreat work, have a nice weekend!

Trackbacks

  1. Instagram Roundup « The Shadowlands

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

