Skip to content

My Favorite Fairytale Re-tellings

June 21, 2012

I love fairytale re-tellings. Actually, I just love fairytales. And I may or may not have seen Disney’s Cinderella 1,762 times as a child. There’s no way to be sure because I didn’t count viewings but my mom rented it from the video store so often for us that I’m not sure why we didn’t buy it sooner. My parents probably single handedly kept the video store in business by renting Cinderella at least once a week. 

A few days ago my sister shared this blog post with me because she knows I love Once Upon a Time just as much as I love fairytales (everyone knows this). I loved this list and I loved the idea and so I am shamelessly stealing this post idea and doing my own list of favorite fairytale re-tellings. If you love fairytales as much as I do you will love this list too. If you don’t, you should read it anyway, because you might read one or two and become addicted just like me, which would be all part of my evil plan!  BWAHAHAHA!!!!!!!! ahem. (Ignore my evil chuckle. I’m not the villian by the way. I’m the princess. Obviously.)

Here goes!

Entwined by Heather Dixon

Entwined is a re-telling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses and it is magical. If you love fairytales you will love this book. It is made up of fairy dust all strung together in dancing lines. The words are as beautiful as the princesses.

.

.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

.Ella Enchanted is a Cinderella retelling and it is really nothing like Cinderella. But. It is so whimsical and such a blast to read. Definitely recommended for a fluff read. .

.

.

.

Fairest by Gail Carson Levine

. Gail Carson Levine tackles the Snow White legend this time and again it is really nothing like Snow White. The main difference being that our protaganist, Aza (Snow White) is not commonly thought “fairest in the land” In fact, hardly anyone thinks she’s pretty. But, are looks really that important? .

.

.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

.I didn’t know the tale of the Two Princesses before I read this book but it enchanted me right from the get-go. The two sisters are as close of sisters can be, but they are polar opposites. Meryl is brave and daring, Addie as timid as a mouse and afraid of her own shadow. But, when the brave Meryl falls ill to an incurable disease Addie must find the courage to do the impossible. Love is a powerful driving force and this is a beautiful story.

.

Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale

. This is a retelling of Maid Maleen. Dashti, our protaganist bravely volunteers to accompany the young Lady Saren into her imprisonment. They are locked up in a tower for 7 years. Dashti is resourceful, spunky, wise and all around lovable. I think I’d want her with me if I had to be locked up in a tower. .

.

.

Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

.This is a retelling of The Goose Girl fairytale. (Kind of obvious, but I thought I’d say so in case anyone didn’t catch that…) 🙂 Our protaganist is Isi, or actually Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee.(I’m thinking I may let Shannon Hale name all of my future children.)  Anyway, Isi is just perfect. She is sweet and young and innocent and unsure of herself and her future. She has a knack for languages, human AND birds. So sweet and adorable and Shannon Hale’s words are so vivid and perfect. Love this one.

.

The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye 

.Ok, so this isn’t really a fairytale retelling. But, it’s so awesome it deserves mention.

.When Princess Amethyst Alexandra Augusta Araminta Adelaide Aurelia Anne of Phantasmorania (Amy for short) is born she is given the gift of “ordinary-ness” by the fairies. But, is it really a “gift”? I say yes. 🙂 Every girl should read this book.

.

Beauty by Robin McKinley 

.If Cinderella was my favorite Disney Princess as a child, Belle is my favorite as an adult. Robin McKinley does a fantastic job retelling Beauty and The Beast. In fact, Beauty is considered one of the staple titles of the fairytale genre. I really can’t do it justice, so just go read it!

.

.

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George 

Another retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. This version is a little scarier and a little darker but just as lovely and magical. I love it.

.

.

.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2012 3:18 pm

    All but the first and last books would be on my list, and that’s only because I han’t read those yet. They are going on my PBS wishlist. 🙂

  2. June 21, 2012 8:28 pm

    I might have to print this list out and display it at the library somewhere! Fairy Tales are totally in right now!

    • Rebecca permalink*
      June 21, 2012 9:28 pm

      They are!! I love fairytales!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. June 22, 2012 1:36 pm

    Love this list! Some of my favorite books ever on this list.

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

