Skip to content

Leadership, part 4

May 22, 2012

Leadership, part 1 HERE, part 2 HERE, part 3 HERE

6. Be worthy of respect 

People respect those that respect them. This goes right along with caring and loving the people in your life. However, being worthy of respect is a little different. When you are a leader you’re the kind of person everyone is looking to all the time. Your actions and words have more impact and weight than another person’s might. We, as leaders need to hold ourselves to a high standard of conduct. We need to recognize that the position we hold is worthless unless we deserve it. We need to nurture our respectability and keep it healthy and clean.

7. Be an Encourager 

I’m a Rosie the Riveter fan. 🙂 Why? Because she rolls up her sleeves and gets to work. And she encourages others to do the same. She sets the example in the middle of a world at war.

Here’s a typical day in Rosie’s life:

She works hard at a factory (boring, mundane, dirty, intense physical labor). She goes home to a rationed dinner (no sugar, no meat), followed by a dark evening doing housework (blackout curtains pulled), going to bed alone (husband away at war, who knows if he will return alive) and a crack-of-dawn (or maybe earlier) alarm clock to start it all over again.

And she makes it look AMAZING. She is attractive and strong. She gets the job done and she does it well. And she inspires millions of American women to pick up burdens that are too heavy for them and cheerfully follow her into “battle.”

As Plato so eloquently said “Be kind, everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle”  So true. We all need encouragement. We all need someone to say “Yeah, life is not fun right now, in fact it’s really, really awful. But, we can do it! We are in this thing together and you and I are going to do everything we can to beat it.”  And that’s why I appreciate Rosie. Because We CAN Do it! We just need someone to tell us so.

This concludes (for now) my series on Leadership. I hope that you enjoyed my ramblings. If anything this has helped me figure out some things and that’s definitely worth it. I’d really love to hear your thoughts on this subject, or others! Please leave me a comment if you have any questions, comments, ideas or if you have any requests for future blog series! 


Who are the inspirations and encouragers in your life?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barb permalink
    May 23, 2012 8:00 pm

    Loved the series Rebecca! Excellent topic. I wish I could take this last one to work with me.

    • Rebecca permalink*
      May 29, 2012 9:49 am

      Thanks Barb! Your comments mean a lot to me. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

