Skip to content

My Top 5 I-Don’t-Know-What-to-Make-for-Dinner Ideas

May 17, 2012

If you are a cook who has never wondered “What should I make for dinner?” then this blog post is not for you. Please go write a cookbook for the rest of us.

I’m a planner. I thrive on having things laid out in front of me. I like to know what I’m going to make for dinner the night before. And if not the night before then I decide in the morning before I leave for work. Not that this always happens.

Here’s what I make for dinner when I forgot to think about it until 5:30 when I leave work:

Look at these. Tell me you don’t want to eat these. (These are actual Made By Me pancakes, by the way)

Pancakes.

The awesome thing about pancakes is that they are fast to make, smell amazing and are a fun, comfort food. Everyone gets excited (“Yay! Pancakes!!”) I just smile and nod as if all along I was planning to make pancakes for dinner just because I know everyone loves them and not because I literally had no time to do anything other than throw together some flour and stuff and heat up the griddle. We warm up our syrup and put on heaping mounds of butter. And then we watch Psych. Just because. You know.

.

.

.

Spaghetti.

Β Possibly the easiest dinner known to woman. I make sure to keep the pantry stocked with spaghetti noodles and sauce just for these nights. In fact I never PLAN on making spaghetti. I save spaghetti for the nights that I don’t have time to cook anything else or can’t think of anything else to make.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Pineapple and Onion Pizza

Pizza

Not delivery. Homemade pizza. Recipe HERE. Here’s why making pizza is easy and a no-brainer: I look and see what we have on hand in the fridge and make up pizza toppings with that. For instance, the other night we had some chicken cooked up so I cubed that, spread BBQ sauce (mixed with a little teriyaki and honey) on the dough, threw on the chicken and some raw onion and cheddar cheese, throw it in the oven and almost instantly the house smells yeast-y and yummy. Perfect.

.

.

Spicy Thai Noodles With Shrimp

Pasta Something

This is actually one of my favorite things to eat. I cook some pasta, toss it with olive oil or butter and throw in some fresh tomatoes and herbs. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese and you’re done. So tasty and perfect for meatless nights. Sometimes I toss it with teriyaki sauce instead and grate carrots and onions to go on top. I also like to sprinkle honey roasted peanuts and raisins on. Sound weird? Trust me. My family LOVES it. HERE‘s the recipe for that yummy looking thing in the picture, if you’re interested. :

.

.

I like crushed oreos on top of mine πŸ™‚

Ice Cream Sundaes

I’m not even kidding. We do this sometimes in the summertime. Don’t tell my mom. Sometimes we eat a good, healthy dinner first. But, not always. πŸ™‚ And, really, what’s summer without ice cream for dinner?

.

.

.

.

.

.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2012 8:48 am

    I’m a food blogger and I still have those moments. The most recent time was just last night but I threw something together on the fly and it turned out great.

    Spaghetti and pancakes are two of my go to dishes for those days too.

    • Rebecca permalink*
      May 17, 2012 10:48 pm

      LOL! I can relate Micha! I’m a style blogger and I don’t know what to wear half the time! πŸ™‚

  2. kingsfiddler permalink
    May 19, 2012 10:20 am

    I love pancakes for dinner!!!! Let’s plan it next week πŸ™‚

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

