Skip to content

Leadership, Part 3

May 15, 2012

Leadership, part 1 HERE, part 2 HERE

4. Care/Love for people 

“People don’t care how much you know, when they know how much you care.” -John C. Maxwell 

A good leader cares about the people he/she is leading and THAT is what makes them a good leader. There are some people in my life that I know love me unconditionally. Those are the people I would follow into a fire. Those are the people whose suggestions I am keen to follow. Those people have my trust and respect. I’m willing to follow them because they are willing to lead me because they care about me.

5. Tough Love 

A good leader knows how to administer tough love properly and effectively. In my opinion a good dose of tough love is 90% love and 10% tough. Some people may disagree with me on this but consider: The LOVE should be the motivating factor that causes the TOUGH. If you really love someone you will be willing to be tough with them if that’s what they need. Sometimes I think people feel that if they love someone they could never be hard on them. I understand these feelings and the truth is that it IS hard to be tough with someone you love, because if they hurt you hurt too.  But, I’m sure we can all relate to needing serious reproof at times. Consider the times you wish someone would have spoken up in your life and given you some guidance even when you probably weren’t open to receiving it. Isn’t the best person to give you the correction also the person that you know loves you the most? If you truly care for someone you will want what’s best for them. Sometimes that’s a word of chastisement. But, a good leader knows not to go too far with this. Love and care is still the most important part. Don’t administer the tough unless you have a solid foundation of love that shines through.

To be continued… 

Are you willing to follow someone who cares about you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barb permalink
    May 23, 2012 7:56 pm

    Oh, I like this one too. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Leadership, part 4 « The Shadowlands

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

