Skip to content

April Book List

May 1, 2012

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett (****) My first ever Terry Pratchett experience and I have to say I loved it.  Witty, comical, quirky and intriguing.  Well done, Terry Pratchett. Well done.

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai (*****) Absolutely beautiful.  Every young person should read this haunting and beautiful story of a young girl as her family flees the fall of Saigon, journeys to a new world and learns to live again.  Beautiful, beautiful, BEAUTIFUL. I can’t say beautiful enough… My words really cannot do her words justice. I read it one sitting. The beauty of the words still linger….

If I Stay by Gayle Forman Reviewed HERE 

Where She Went by Gayle Forman Reviewed HERE 

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (****) I absolutely LOVED Northanger Abbey.  I had never read it before, only seen the movie and I’ve no decided that this is my favorite Austen. Hands down. Also Henry Tilney > Mr. Darcy. FINAL ANSWER. 🙂

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale (****) Yay for fairytale retellings and Shannon Hale!  So sweet and adorable and Shannon Hale’s words are so vivid and perfect. Love this one.

(Running count for the year: 41)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    May 1, 2012 6:45 pm

    I have Going Postal half read on my bedside table, love Terry Prachett’s books, so funny!

    Henry Tilney is probably my favourite too! (Although Persuasion is my favourite Jane Austen novel).

    I am also partway through reading a Rapunzel retelling called Bitter Greens by an Australian author, Kate Forsyth, whose other books I love. Not sure if it is possible to get it in the US yet. She writes fantasy novels usually, I am enjoying this one so far.

    • Rebecca permalink*
      May 1, 2012 6:50 pm

      Oh, I’ll have to look that author up! Thanks for the recommendation!

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

