Skip to content

Movie Review: Mirror Mirror

April 13, 2012

Snow White is obviously trending right now which is totally fine with me.  I think everyone knows I’m obsessed with Once Upon a Time, specifically Mary Margaret/Snow. (I certainly don’t hide it) I have always had a soft spot for Fairy Tales ever since the days when I used to watch Disney’s Cinderella on a weekly basis. I never got tired of it.  Ever. In fact, I might watch it when I’m done writing this review.

Mirror Mirror is a sort of whimsical, humorous take on the Snow White fable.  I’ll admit I had a little difficulty getting into it at first.  Because to begin with I didn’t see Ginnifer Goodwin or Josh Dallas anywhere.  Not that I was expecting too, but still Once Upon a Time has sort of become my standard by which I judge all other fairy tale retellings.  So, even though nothing else ever really measures up, I love Snow White and that’s that.

Julia Roberts was amazing.  As the Evil Queen says in the very beginning: “This is my story. Not hers.” And basically… that sums it up.  This story is really about the Evil Queen. And, I gotta be honest, it’s kind of hard to hate her because she is so hilarious.  The seven dwarfs were also very funny and lovable.  Prince Charming (Who named him Prince Alcott?  Alcott?  Really?) was, um… Not Charming.  But, in light of the fact that he plays off of The Evil Queen so much it seems fitting that he would be 7 parts Humor 3 parts Charm.  And he is funny enough and likable enough that by the end I was totally rooting for him. Snow White is a little… meh.  Lily Collins really does a good job of playing the perfect princess without being gaggy overly sweet.  But, her character seems underdeveloped compared to the Queens and frankly not as memorable.  The chemistry between Snow White and the Prince was kind of sporadic.  There were times it was so sweet and others I wondered why they liked each other…. (Again, I’m probably totally spoiled by Once Upon a Time.) Some of the action scenes got long and a little boring and the dance number in the very end was totally random and felt completely out of place. BUT, the costumes and scenery were gorgeous, and the dialogue was snappy and witty. The whole movie is totally over the top and it accomplishes being over the top quite well, thank you.

All in all I think it was a fun way to spend a couple hours on a Monday night.  I did laugh a lot. I really appreciate unexpected, quirky humor and Mirror Mirror definitely delivered on that.

I give it 3 stars and check another movie off my LIST. 🙂

P.S. Best part of the movie? Sean Bean. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kingsfiddler permalink
    April 13, 2012 7:16 am

    umm… way to give a spoiler at the end! or is he in the first 5 minutes that I missed…

  2. Susannah permalink
    April 13, 2012 10:18 am

    SEAN BEAN!!! For the first time in my life I felt a little of what those crazed fan girls must feel when Edward Cullen appears on screen…

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

