Skip to content

Recipe: Chocolate Chip Scones

April 11, 2012

I LOVE scones.  I’ve used this basic recipe and adapted it to lots of different variations.  Basically, whatever you’re in the mood for, you can create using this basic recipe.  The chocolate chips are, of course, optional.  My family happens to like scones with chocolate chips in them.  (Actually, to be totally honest, my family just likes chocolate chips.  When we were kids we would eat them right out of the bag.  Instead of buying us candy Mom  would buy us chocolate chips.  I know.  *shrug*) And as we all know I love to feed my family food they like.  

4 cups flour   
3 Tblsp sugar
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
3/4 cup cold butter (no substitutes)
1 egg, separated 1 1/2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (optional)

additional sugar

In a bowl combine the first five ingredients; cut in butter until crumbly. In a bowl, whisk egg yolk and milk. Add to dry ingredients just until moistened. Stir in chocolate chips.  (This is where you would add something else in place of chocolate chips, or leave the chips out altogether) Turn onto a floured surface; knead 10 times. Divide dough in half. Pat each portion into a 7 inch circle; cut into 8 wedges. Separate wedges and place on greased baking sheets.
Beat egg white and brush over dough. Sprinkle with additional sugar. Bake @ 425 for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve with Spiced Butter:
1/2 cup butter softened.
3 tblsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
Combine all ingredients. Beat until smooth. Serve with warm scones

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 6:24 am

    Looks yum! You image makes me crave 🙂 I wish I could have some caramalised butter on side 🙂 When you have the time do drop by my space. I just made some chilled sorbet and would love to know what you think.

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

