Skip to content

10(ish) Books I’d Like to See on the Big Screen

April 9, 2012

The recent EXCELLENT adaptation and success of The Hunger Games  and Hugo has given me wild hope that Hollywood can actually (*gasp* *shock*) create something that honors and reflects the original story.  Something that delights the book lovers and doesn’t make the authors turn over in their graves. So, I’m compiling my list of 10 books that I would like to humbly suggest the Hollywood people (whoever they are) choose for their next awesome adaptation. In fact, if there is some kind of Think Tank that meets somewhere in Hollywood to discuss book manuscripts and how well to adapt them to movies I think someone should let me know when and where this happens so that I can move there and lobby outside the door until they finally listen to me and/or invite me to join their group.  I would bring cookies so it could be a win for everyone.  

 

1.  The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare I don’t understand why hasn’t this been made before? It’s a Newberry award winner and it’s amazing.


2.  The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis  This is one of my favorite Narnia books… but I say that about all of them…. 🙂

3.  Savvy by Ingrid Law This would be LOVE

4.  The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall I ❤ The Penderwicks.  There should be more fiction like this for kids.  And there should be movies so kids also have great things to watch.

5.  Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury I have heard rumors of this one being in the making for YEARS.  It needs to just get DONE!

6.  The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare Um, it’s awesome.  ‘Nuff said.

7.  Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe On 2nd thought maybe it should be a TV miniseries.  In order to do it right it would have to be like a 10 hour movie… so, maybe a miniseries would be good.

8. Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson There’s a niche for it.  It would sell. Make it!

9.   Goose Girlby Shannon Hale Any of Shannon Hale’s books would make beautiful movies. And if they made Goose Girl into a movie they’d have to make all the rest of the Books of Bayern into movies too and that would not be a crime.

10.  This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti I’m actually surprised that some Christian movie making company hasn’t picked this one up yet.

11.  A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle  It’s a classic. It’s phenomenal. More people should know about it.

12.  The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart The Benedict Society books are the books I hold all other Kids’ Fiction up to as a standard.  Everything should be this clean, this exciting, this educational.

13. Blackout and All Clear by Connie Willis … And really, this should be a miniseries too because if they tried to fit it all into a 90 minute movie it would be so, so, so wrong.  I’m thinking more like a 20 episode series.  That would be AWESOME. I seriously think Connie Willis could rival the Lost writers with her genius story telling.  And that’s saying a lot.  These stories are GOLD.

Did I say 10? I meant 13… Actually, I have a whole list but I’m not going to publish the whole thing now. I don’t want you guys to think I’m a geek…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    April 9, 2012 6:57 am

    I have so longed for The Bronze Bow to be adapted to film. How amazing would that be?!?

    And I have an inkling that there WAS a Wrinkle in Time film ages ago… but I might be wrong.

    • Rebecca permalink*
      April 11, 2012 4:34 pm

      HMMM… looks like there was a made for tv version. AND, supposedly there’s a version in the works for next year! Fingers crossed it’s a good adaptation!

  2. April 9, 2012 2:59 pm

    I’m dying for The Blue Castle to be made by PBS. Made well, that is. Adapted correctly. According to the book.

    Not that I have issues with books being butchered by the movie or anything, LOL.

  3. Emily permalink
    April 10, 2012 6:36 am

    I need to read the Witch of Blackbird Pond again.

  4. Sarah permalink
    April 11, 2012 7:23 am

    You mean an updated version of Uncle Tom’s Cabin from the 1987 version? I haven’t seen that movie in years…it was SO good, but so sad. 😦 I remember watching the movie was the 1st time I learned about slavery.

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

