Skip to content

March Book List

April 2, 2012

The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley (***) This is the story of Aerin and the prequel to The Blue Sword, although it was written 2 years after The Blue Sword.  Strangely, I think I would have liked this book more if I hadn’t already read The Blue Sword.  Aerin is the original wielder of Gonturan, which is the famous Blue Sword, the story is about her learning to use it, becoming a dragon slayer and etc. (I don’t want to give away the plot).  Anyway, the second half of the book starts to feel very much like the author is borrowing her favorite parts from the Blue Sword and working them into the story.  Overall, it’s a very good book.  Well written, colorful and beautiful.  The characters and environment are thoroughly developed, which all around gives this fictional setting a very real feel.

The Moving Finger by Agatha Christie (*****) Hands down one of my all time favorite Christie’s.  I’m not sure if it’s the characters or the plot or the fact that Miss Marple is adorable, but anyway… I love it.  🙂

The Big Four by Agatha Christie (****) This is not one of my favorite Christie’s.  It has a different style and voice than the other Poirot mysteries.  More of a Sherlock Holmes vs. Moriarty kind of feel.  At the end of the day though, It’s Agatha Christie so it’s WIN.

Blackout by Connie Willis (*****) reviewed HERE

All Clear by Connie Willis (*****) reviewed HERE

The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman (***) This was a good book.  Very classic Girl Finding Self Worth story.  I would recommend it.

Divergent by Veronica Roth (***) Reviewed HERE

The View from Saturday by E. L. Konigsberg (****) Really excellent.  I loved the character developments and voices.

(Running count for the year: 29)

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maureen E permalink
    April 2, 2012 10:15 am

    I love View from Saturday! Partly because I was on a quiz bowl team in high school, partly because it’s just a great story.

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

