Skip to content

Tragedy and Loss

March 31, 2012

Tragedy and Loss have stuck their cold,

intrusive fingers into our lives.

They are gone, faster than they came,

abandoning us to our gaping chasms of emptiness.  

We are left and broken, 

one team member short,

trying to play a game.

But no one wants to play anymore.  

It was only a little over a year ago that our little family lost a dear woman.  Nancy, my Aunt, my Uncle’s wife, my Cousin’s beloved mother, to a cruel and relentless battle with cancer.  We grieved and we wondered at the unfairness of dying at the age of 45, when there is still so much to live for. A year passed… a year full of more upheaval, a nearly fatal car accident, another cancer diagnosis.

And I thought we couldn’t take anymore.

I was wrong.

Once again, we gather for a funeral.

There is too much cruelty in the world, too much hurt. A sudden death, and my remaining Aunt, my strong, healthy, alive Aunt Beckie, is gone.  Just gone.  And it’s so different this time because there was no warning, no life sucking  cancer draining her away to nothing.  She’s just gone.  So suddenly and shockingly that we still don’t have our sea legs.  We still wonder if we will wake up from this dream.

We live in an alternate reality where the top step of the stairs is always missing.

46 is too young to die.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Krista permalink
    March 31, 2012 9:28 am

    I am so sorry, Rebecca. *HUG* I wish I could give you a hug in person. Please know that you are still in my thoughts & prayers and PLEASE let me know if there’s anything I can do. Much love!

  2. Sarah permalink
    March 31, 2012 9:47 am

    Dear Jesus, please send comfort to Rebecca and her family. May they feel you wrap them in your loving arms. Give them strength and peace during this. May you bring them through once again, for our hope and trust is in you and only you.

  3. March 31, 2012 10:03 am

    I’m so sorry. 😦

  4. March 31, 2012 12:07 pm

    I’m sorry 😦 the loss of those we love takes our breath away and you can’t find it again and it hurts and it really sucks. I will pray for you guys. Here’s a hug! Know that nothing can separate you from Jesus’ love… even in the darkness. What you’re goin’ through brings tears to my eyes…. I know when I went up to my cousin’s funeral, he was 18 and his mom is my Aunt, the love that we shared as a family was so sweet… it’s really rough and can feel like drowning when someone you love is taken and especially so early. One of my students that I taught in Thailand died the month after Nathen, my aunt’s son died… it was soo hard for me…. Love and prayers were two of the most important things for me at the time…. sending some love and prayers your way…. especially God’s love….

  5. March 31, 2012 7:38 pm

    I’m so sorry for your – and your family’s – loss. I am praying for you. Sending you a hug!

  6. Crystal permalink
    March 31, 2012 9:36 pm

    You couldn’t have said it any better! It has truly been a test of our faith and the strength of our family! We always get through it but its not easy. xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Life Goes On « The Shadowlands
  2. Neutrals « The Shadowlands
  3. Stripety Stripe Stripe « The Shadowlands

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

