Skip to content

Recipe: Granola

March 15, 2012

I can’t tell you how much I love my granola in the morning.  It’s one of my favorite parts about my morning routine.  I eat it with yogurt and fresh fruit and a big cup of hot coffee.  Yum, yum, yum.

Here’s my recipe:

Dry mix:

8 cups rolled oats

1 cup almonds (or whatever nuts you prefer)

1 cup of crushed peanuts

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a big bowl

(At this point you could pretty much add whatever dry ingredients you like in your granola.  I like sunflower seeds and if I have other nuts on hand like pecans or walnuts or something I would add those maybe instead of the peanuts.  I almost always use peanuts for sure just because they happen to be one of the least expensive nuts you can buy so I usually have them on hand. 🙂 You really can’t do this the “wrong” way.  Now would be the time to add wheat germ or oat bran or anything like that too. Put in whatever dry ingredients you like!)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp vanilla 

2 tsp. nutmeg

1 1/2 tsp salt

Mix the above ingredients thoroughly and bring to a boil in a saucepan over medium heat.

Meanwhile line 2 or 3 pans with aluminum foil and heat the oven to 325 degrees.  When the sauce boils take it off the heat and pour it over the dry ingredients.  Mix everything thoroughly and then spread it in your aluminum foil covered pans.

The next step is to give the granola a good toasting.  It’s tricky to do this without overdoing it.  I usually toast it in the oven for 20 minutes or so, stirring it every 6-7 minutes.  Towards the end I stir it in shorter increments like 3 minutes or so.  When it’s a nice golden brown color pull it out of the oven and set it out to cool down.  Once it’s cool you can stir in any dried fruits you’d like to add.  I usually stir in about 1 cup of raisins, but dried cranberries are really good too.  If you like another kind of dried fruit now would be the time to add that in as well.

Store it in an airtight container and enjoy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pilgrim Dreamer permalink
    March 16, 2012 3:59 pm

    Have you ever tried using melted butter in place of the vegetable oil? Just wondering. This sounds really good!

  2. March 16, 2012 4:17 pm

    Also, are the almonds slivers or chopped?

    • Rebecca permalink*
      March 16, 2012 5:39 pm

      Hmmm… no, I’ve never tried using butter. That would be interesting… and the almonds I used were slivers, but chopped would work too, I think. 🙂

  3. March 16, 2012 6:34 pm

    I’m just trying to see how many comments I can leave on this post in the same day, LOL–I JUST made half a batch (I don’t eat granola everyday so half is big enough for me) and I used real butter instead of vegetable oil–you HAVE to try it, it’s like caramel!! I also used hulled sesame seeds and milled flax seeds in place of the peanuts cuz i didn’t have any, and added extra almonds–super yummy! I’m eating some straight out of the oven, lol.

    • Rebecca permalink*
      March 16, 2012 7:52 pm

      I’ll have to try that next time! When I make it it always smells like caramel too! I LOVE it! And I always eat it right out of the oven… Its sooooo yummy when it’s still warm….

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

