Skip to content

Comfort Clothes

March 14, 2012

Lacey Sweater: Maurices (also worn HERE and HERE), Scarf: Borrowed, Jacket: Walmart (I swear I have had this jacket for upwards of 7 years… love this thing), Jeans: Silver, Flats: Target

I am definitely not one of those people who gets a new wardrobe every season.  I buy new pieces whenever I find ones that I like (If I can afford them, obviously, because I find things I like ALL the time).  Sometimes I feel kind of like I’m cheating by telling people where I got things. I hope you all don’t rush out and try to buy things you see me wear because most of them are not in stores right now. If I like something I keep it until it A) no longer fits, B) falls apart,  C) looks like it’s been through the washer 2,367 times or D) is just WAY out of style.  This particular jacket I bought in the Junior’s section at Walmart so long ago that I don’t even know for sure how long I’ve had it.  I still lived at home with my parents when I first bought it and I used to wear it almost every day.  It’s a comfort piece for me.  So I will probably never get rid of it.  I will probably give it to my oldest daughter someday.  And she will probably say “Mom, this looks like a Grandma jacket” and by that time… it probably will be.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. iampaulaaquino permalink
    March 14, 2012 7:39 am

    love it. the scarf is such a statement! 🙂

  2. March 14, 2012 9:09 am

    Don’t worry, that’s how I am with clothes too. (And more pieces than I care to admit came from the jrs department …)

    -Marie

    • Rebecca permalink*
      March 14, 2012 3:42 pm

      I’ve found quite a few things in the juniors department too… they almost seem to fit better sometimes…. 🙂

  3. Rachel permalink
    March 14, 2012 11:47 am

    Are you losing weight? Your legs are so lean and thin! Are you working out??? Love the colors of your scarf too…sighhh spring!!!

    I’ve never looked good in jean jackets…but you make me want to try one again, it looks so nice on you and it certainly does NOT look 7 yrs old! I keep my cloths around forever too….and whenever I do get rid of something, I regret it because it comes back in style :/ I will learn…

  4. Pilgrim Dreamer permalink
    March 14, 2012 3:25 pm

    I’m envious of your jacket, but never fear, I shall soon be the owner of one too. Sometime, anyway. I totally wear my favorite clothes that same way, or my shoes.

    I find alot of mine at Ross Dress For Less or Dollar General on sale (if you have a Dollar General around, check the clearance racks frequently), or Wal-Mart clearance rack or CATO clearance rack *hugs her beloved CATO clearance rack* I seldom pay full price for anything, actually. Love it.

    It was sheer TORTURE to give away some of my favorite clothes when I lost 60 pounds recently, because…….SOME OF THEM WERE SO CUTE, lol. Too big now, but so cute, and I’d spent so long building up a cute wardrobe, having to see it diminish was painful *chuckles*

    My one consolation is whenever I’m done with losing weight I can go buy a whole new wardrobe. I have to keep holding out for that, LOL.

    • Rebecca permalink*
      March 14, 2012 3:43 pm

      WOW! 60 Pounds! That’s awesome! Way to go!

  5. Emily permalink
    March 14, 2012 8:05 pm

    One of my favorites you have posted!

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

