Skip to content

Recipe: Jambalaya

March 8, 2012
tags: ,

 

Jambalaya is a favorite around my house.  It’s perfect for cold, rainy days because it’s hot and comforting and SPICY. Also, it’s really easy to throw together and put in the crock pot so it’s all ready when we walk in the door at the end of a long day.  The meat can all be cooked the night before (sometimes I just save the leftover meats from previous meals) and basically all tossed in and it’s ready!  

Sausage, cooked. (I usually use whatever I have on hand. Usually ground turkey sausage or kielbasa. In this case I used some brats I had in the freezer.)
Chicken, cooked and cubed
Shrimp, deveined and tailed
2 cans diced tomatoes with juice
Onion, diced
Sweet pepper, diced
2 cups chicken stock or chicken broth
2 tsp pepper
2 tsp salt
2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 tsp cumin
3 cloves, garlic
2 tsp Cajun spice mix

Cook all the meats thoroughly and put everything together in the crock pot. Turn on low for 7-8 hours or high for 3-4. Serve over rice.

No comments yet

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

