Skip to content

February Book List

March 1, 2012

Beauty by Robin McKinley (****) Robin McKinley is really pretty amazing.  Beauty and The Beast is one of my favorite fairytales.  I love the whole concept of love being a powerful force of change, it’s really inspiring. (And yes, I realize that last sentence was incredibly sappy. I’m obviously on a fairytale high right now. Ignore.  It will pass soon.)

Princess of Glass by Jessica Day George (***) I’m still not down from my fairytale high.  This was a really fun twist on the Cinderella story.

Cards on the Table by Agatha Christie (****) This is one of those closed door mysteries that Christie is famous for. 5 people in a room, one of them I’d murdered, one of the other four must have done it but who and when? The awesome thing about this particular book, though is thy all four suspects are actually already suspected murderers. So, Poirot must not only solve the murder, but the 4 previous ones as well. This was a re-read for me, but since I didn’t remember whodunit or any of the details it was fun to open again. I just love Agatha Christie. 🙂

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (**) Review HERE

What Mrs. McGillicuddy Saw by Agatha Christie (****) I can’t believe I found an Agatha Christie mystery that I hadn’t read before.  I loved this one.

Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George (***) This book took me a while to get through and I’m not really sure why because I really liked it.  I think it was just that I was too busy to read more than a little snatch here and there.  Anyway, it was fluffy and fun and had DRAGONS in it.  My sisters and I are contemplating getting a dragon for our backyard so this was a good book to read and kind of learn more about them. 🙂

At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie (****) This is a fun Miss Marple mystery.  I had read it before and remembered most of the plot so it was fun to read all the little clues that Christie writes in for us that most of us totally miss the first time through.

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie (*****) Agatha Christie does love her little romances.  This one is of course, not a LITTLE romance. And it’s more tragedy than romance.  But, really, all the most famous love stories are tragedies after all.  So sad.  And so brilliant.

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos-  Review coming.

The Watsons go to Birmingham-1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis – Review Coming

*You may have noticed there’s a lot of Agatha Christie on this list.  I recently discovered my library’s e-book download system… There’s a lot of Agatha Christie’s available on it… And I DO love my Christie… 🙂

(Running Count for the year: 21)

No comments yet

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

