Skip to content

It’s My Birthday. I am 30.

February 27, 2012

Top: The Buckle

Cardigan, Boots: Maurices

Scarf:…. Walmart? (I’ve had all of these things for years…)

So, let’s just get this out of the way.  Today I am 30 years old.  It all feels so surreal… Me? 30??? THIRTY?!?!?!?  NO. WAY.  But, the calender is not lying and neither will I.  I’m having serious issues with this whole Turning Thirty thing.  In my opinion if I don’t FEEL 30 I should be allowed to go back to 25.  Also, since I’ve basically been 30 since I was 12 or so and never had a true Teenage Experience (I’ve heard Teenagers like to stay out late and be super sociable and do wild, crazy things. This is weird for me, since I spent most of my teen years with my nose in a book and the craziest thing I ever did was… I can’t think of anything…) I considered moving home for the last few months of my 20s and doing some of those crazy things.  My mom assured me she would be more than happy to have me at home for a few months and predicted that I would probably stay out as late as 10:00 maybe and then fall asleep in the driveway waiting for my curfew. Or, maybe in a fit of “teenage” rebellion I might make a point of NOT helping her with the dinner dishes. Scandalous. My sisters considered that the craziest thing I might do was maybe put my entire iPod playlist on shuffle.  I thought about doing that but decided against it.  That’s just TOO wild. I mean, the genres should really stay together.  We really shouldn’t mess with nature, right?  In the end I did the craziest thing I could convince myself to do.  I dyed my hair.  I invite you all to scroll up to the top of the page and take a good look at it.  Yes, I realize it’s not much of a change.  It’s a little darker than it was and I had some reddish-brown highlights put in.  Most people don’t believe I had anything done at all, but I know better. Plus, my friend Sarah came with me and can vouch for it.  She saw the stylist put the dye in.

All in all, I guess being 30 isn’t such a bad thing.  I’ve been forgetting things a lot lately, and sometimes I’m stiff when I get out of bed in the morning.  I get tired earlier at night and I’m much quicker than I used to be at stating my opinions. But, as my little brother Luke said to me the other day “Everyone gets old, Rebecca.  It’s not a medical phenomenon.” So true.  I will stop complaining now.  I will just think about how great my life has been and how great it’s going to be from now on.  And I will eat chocolate and have 2 cups of coffee and I will NOT cry.  Well, maybe a little.

*Photo Credit to Stephanie

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 7:23 am

    Happy birthday! You make thirty look great — and your outfit is a beautiful, colourful celebration of your special day!

    I really struggled with turning thirty, too. I never expected to. I think I’m still adjusting, actually! But life is good and being thirty in this era is, like, the youngest thirtyness ever!

    • Rebecca permalink*
      February 27, 2012 8:04 am

      Oh, thanks Danielle! I was kind of expecting to wake up crying this morning, but I have so many nice posts on FB already and I got flowers right away this morning and all of that is definitely making this easier. THANKS!!!

  2. Deb permalink
    February 27, 2012 10:29 am

    I’m only less than two years behind you–this year I’ll be twenty-niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine–, and it depresses me too, but you know, you’re only as “old” as you let yourself feel, LOL. I really like I’m having my teen experience now, because i wasn’t the rebellious daring kid either. It’s just been in the past few years I’ve become more like that. 30 IS the new twenty, they say, so we’re still spring chickens, we really are. *chuckles*

    • Rebecca permalink*
      February 27, 2012 10:49 am

      It’s hard to believe we’re as old as we are, isn’t it? 30 is the new 20 and hopefully by the time we get to 40 it will be the new 30!

      • February 29, 2012 4:00 pm

        I HOPE IT’S THE NEW 30 WAY BEFORE YOU GET THERE, SINCE THAT’S WHAT’S STARING ME IN THE FACE (well, in 10 months anyway.)! I’m glad you didn’t wake up crying…although, this post about made ME cry….

        Happy Belated Birthday. ! You ARE only as old as you think you are (ask me how I know this…then remember who I’m married to…)…and you have lots and lots of life and happiness left to experience. Just because your age starts with a 3 doesn’t make you OLD… 🙂

        • Rebecca permalink*
          February 29, 2012 6:34 pm

          Shannon, you’re definitely a very young 39. Sorry I made you almost cry… The older I get the more emotional I get so… yeah. I get that.

  3. February 27, 2012 8:31 pm

    Happy birthday! Your hair was the first thing I noticed in the pictures—cute! And I think it is very daring to dye ones hair. 🙂

    • Rebecca permalink*
      February 27, 2012 10:01 pm

      Thanks Audrey! I think it’s daring too! At least it was for me… 🙂

  4. Krista permalink
    February 27, 2012 8:36 pm

    Happy Birthday! 🙂 Sorry I’m so very nearly at the end of it, but happiest of birthdays to you and may your thirtieth year be the best one yet! 🙂

    PS – You make thirty look amazing!

    • Rebecca permalink*
      February 27, 2012 10:01 pm

      Thanks Krista! And thanks for the phone call! It was great to hear your voice! Love you!

  5. Sarah permalink
    February 29, 2012 9:55 am

    Happy Birthday, Rebecca! First you look absotutely stunning and I love your hair! It is so stylish and hopefully it made turning 30 nice…I agree 30 is the new 20 🙂 Your eye color is beautiful in these pictures…that was the first thing I noticed then I noticed the hair. 🙂 xoxo

  6. Emily permalink
    March 1, 2012 10:45 pm

    You look amazing! Here’s to being thirty! I hope this year is an amazing one for you! LOVE YOU!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Friends and Fuchsia « The Shadowlands

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

