Skip to content

12 Movies to look forward to in 2012

February 6, 2012
tags:

I have a love/hate relationship with movie theaters.  I love watching a really good movie on the big screen.  The key words being “Really Good.”  If the movie doesn’t grab my attention…  I hate paying $15 to sit still for 2 hours in a dark, usually freezing cold room with 50 other people.  I’d rather be at home doing my laundry.  Which is saying something.  So, I don’t usually go to theaters unless I know I’m really going to like the movie.  This year there are way more movies I’m interested in seeing than usual… I’m excited!! Here they are, in no particular order…

The Adventures of TintinActually it came out in theaters in 2011, but I haven’t seen it yet, so I’m looking forward to seeing it this year.  Steven Spielburg and Peter Jackson teamed up on this one?  How can it lose?

.

.

.

The AvengersSuperhero movies for the WIN.  Also, it has Captain America so… totally going to see this one.

.

.

.

.

Life of Pi I was very intrigued by the book.  I’m looking forward to being intrigued by the movie.

.

.

.

.

The Dark Knight Rises  I do like my superhero movies.

.

.

.

.

Snow White and the HuntsmanAnd I love fairytale retellings.  Which you may already know.  This movie looks like adark version of Snow White which intrigues me.  I’m really not sure how I feel about Kristen Stewart being Snow White, because I was NOT impressed with her in Twilight. Actually, I was just not impressed with Twilight, but that’s a completely different topic. But, I’m open to the idea that she might be perfect in the role of Snow White. Not as perfect as Ginnifer Goodwin of course, that goes without saying.

.

Mirror Mirror  Another Snow White movie.  She must be popular right now.  This one looks to be an opposite approach to the fairytale than Snow White and the Huntsman, and I admit, I’m mostly excited about it because of Julia Roberts.

.

.

.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey  Who’s NOT looking forward to seeing The Hobbit?  Possibly people that don’t likeMartin Freeman, but who doesn’t like Martin Freeman???

.

.

.

.

The Hunger Games I’ve been a fan of the Hunger Games since I read the books when they first came out.And the day the trailer came out I watched in 47 times in a row.  (I exaggerate.  Slightly.)

.

.

.

.

The Great Gatsby  I’m not a huge lover of the Great Gatsby.  I found it depressing.  Nevertheless, I’m excitedto see a well done movie version of it… maybe this will be it?

.

.

.

.

Les Miserables  I absolutely LOVE Les Miserables.  I’ve read the book, seen every version of the movie andhave 3 or 4 different versions of the opera on CD.  It’s about time they made a movie based on the stage version.  I cannot tell you how much I’m looking forward to this!  And Russell Crowe and Hugh Jackman are staring???  WIN.

.

.

Austenland  Based on the book by Shannon Hale.  LOVE Shannon Hale.  Austenland isn’t my favorite ofher books, but I don’t even care because Keri Russel is going to be in it!!!!!  AND Jane Seymour!  I couldn’t be more excited.  🙂

.

.

.

The Amazing Spider-Man  Spiderman is one of my all time favorite super heroes.  So of course I will want to seethis one. Even though Toby McGuire isn’t in it which=sad.  Still.  It’s Spidey.

.

.

.


5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 7:18 am

    Ooh, I am excited about nearly all of these, too! (And Tintin was brilliant. Go see it!)

    If only you could commandeer your private jet and fly over to see movies here. I live within walking distance of a beautiful cinema and it’s $6.50 a ticket!

    • Rebecca permalink*
      February 6, 2012 6:28 pm

      I would love that! And I’m really hoping to see Tintin while it’s still in theaters but I haven’t seen it playing anywhere around here… 😦 I may have to wait until it comes out on DVD.

  2. Debi permalink
    February 7, 2012 10:01 am

    This might be the year of the movies for us. I’ve never seen so many potentially good ones 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Book to Movie Review: The Hunger Games « The Shadowlands
  2. Movie Review: Mirror Mirror « The Shadowlands

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

