Skip to content

January Book List

February 2, 2012

Scumble by Ingrid Law (****) Reviewed HERE

The Death Cure by James Dashner (**) Ok, so this was the conclusion of the Maze Runner trilogy.  And… I gotta say… I got bored.  I had to kind of push myself to finish the book.  The Maze Runner was awesome.  The Scorch Trials I sped through probably ’cause I was still on a high from Maze Runner.  The Death Cure fell kind of flat.  It’s one of those things where the situation gets so hyped up and climactic that you just know exactly what’s going to have to happen and you’re kind of hoping the author pulls something else out of the hat and wows you, but they don’t.  And then I was kind of miffed when they killed so many characters left and right in the end.  Some (most) of them were “bad guys” but still.  It’s cheap.

Love Wins by Rob Bell (*) reviewed HERE

Night at the Vulcan by Ngaio Marsh (****) Confession: I love reading mysteries.  Specifically the ones written in “Golden Age” of mystery novels.  (I just totally made that up.  As far as I know there is no “Golden Age” of mystery novels.  I’m talking about Agatha Christie and her contemporaries.) 😀 Excuse me while I geek out. *AHEM*  Anyway.  Ngaio Marsh really does the theater setting well, in my opinion.  I enjoyed it a lot.  🙂

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson (****) I REALLY enjoyed this book.  I’m a little surprised by that, I don’t know why…  I really didn’t know anything about it before I picked it up… and I like it that way.  I like to open a book and have no preconceived ideas and expectations.  This book has a healthy mix of fantasy and realism.  It was smart, complicated (but not overly) and exciting. I felt like the protagonist was very real.  I think, in fact, that she and I could have been friends.  🙂 And apparently, there will be two sequels?  Which is nice, because Girl of Fire and Thorns didn’t end on any cliff hangers, in fact it wrapped up very nicely, but now I know there will be more to look forward to from this author.  🙂  My only “?” What does fire and thorns have to do with anything? Did I miss something major?

The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie (****) Remember I said I love reading mysteries?  Well, Agatha Christie is one of my absolute favorites.  🙂  I’ve read this specific book probably 4 times.  I never get tired of Tommy and Tuppence.  🙂

Briar Rose by Jane Yolen (**) I have a weakness for fairy tale re-tellings.  This one started out good and I think the concept and overall plot were really cool, even genius.  But, somehow, half way through, I suddenly felt like gay rights were almost more central to the story than Briar Rose. The whole plot theme switcheroo was kind of confusing.  And afterwards I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to take away from the book.  Parts of it were beautiful and haunting and sad.  Other parts were perplexing and boring and LOOONNNGG.

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George (***) Another fairytale re-telling. 🙂  This is a really good adaptation of the Twelve Dancing Princesses.  In fact, I’d probably say it was fantastic, except that I read Entwined by Heather Dixon last year… and it’s not as good as Entwined.  Still worth the read though!  Especially if you like the fairytales.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie (****)  Poirot’s first case.  ❤

The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley (****) In the world of fantasy novels, The Blue Sword is iconic.  And for good reason.  Robin McKinley creates a beautiful landscape and peoples it with realistic characters and a gripping plot.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (review coming)

(Running count for the year: 11)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    February 2, 2012 9:35 am

    I can’t believe January is over already! I love your book reviews…even if I don’t alway comment. 🙂

  2. February 2, 2012 9:12 pm

    I liked the mazerunner, but the second book wasn’t as good for me. I’m going to read the last book soon just to see how it ends.

  3. February 3, 2012 6:56 pm

    Your book reviews and book lists always inspire me to keep reading good books! 🙂

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

