Skip to content

December Book List

January 2, 2012

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare – (*****) Reviewed HERE

The Actor and the Housewife by Shannon Hale  -(****)  This book is about so much more than it looks like.  It reads like a fluffy Hallmark movie, (and seriously, I wouldn’t be shocked if Hallmark wanted to make this into a movie) but underneath the fluff there’s so many deep, human feelings and questions. On the most basic level Shannon Hale is talking about two worlds colliding… and somehow managing to become not only friends, but best friends, the I-need-you kind of friends.  I think a lot of people would say that men and women cannot be friends without crossing that line into becoming lovers.  Shannon Hale doesn’t ignore this question in her book.  She tackles it head on.  And I respect her for that. The Actor and the Housewife is completely unrealistic, but it’s so… REAL.  The people are real, their needs are real and their feelings are real.  Their struggles and problems are so, SO real. I have a feeling a lot of people would find this book controversial.  They will dislike one character or another for some reason.  All I can say is that I learned a lot from them. I’m still not sure I know the answer to the men/women friendship question, and I’m not sure there actually is a cut and dry one-size-fits-all answer.  But, kudos to Shannon Hale for attacking the bush instead of beating around it.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner (***)  Another dystopian YA novel.  They are so popular right now.  And I admit… I’m a sucker for a good dystopian novel.  🙂 This one is hard to describe without totally giving the plot away.  I read it with absolutely no idea what I was about to read, and I liked that, because the characters are clueless also, so I really identified with them, and discovered as they did.  I found myself describing it kind of as a cross between The Hunger Games and Enders Game, with a little Lord of the Flies thrown in for good measure. Not sure that’s the best description but that’s what I’ve got… So, if you’re into this kind of book, I’d say check it out!

The Night  Circus by Erin Morgenstern (***)  Completely different than anything I’ve ever read, and I’m not even sure how to describe it.  Except that it’s magic.  The plot is deceivingly basic.  Two magicians are in a challenge, wherein they each pick and train an apprentice, and the apprentices are bound to challenge each other until one of them dies.  Sounds pretty straightforward…. except it’s really not.  And that is really not even what the book is about.  I mean, it is.  But, that’s only the half of it.  The other half is the circus.  And THAT’S the amazing part.

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner (***) Sequel to the Maze Runner.  Not as good as the first, which is to be expected with sequels.  🙂  Still enjoyable, I’m looking forward to the end of the trilogy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 2, 2012 4:31 pm

    Have you read the Hunger Games?

    • Rebecca permalink*
      January 2, 2012 5:59 pm

      Yes! Have you?

      • Sarah permalink
        January 3, 2012 8:17 am

        No but someone at work said they were amazing… but she is not exactly the type of person that I should take a lot of suggestions from…so that’s why I asked u cuz we r more alike 🙂 I looked up the synapse n it looked good. Kind of reminded me of something like those hidden children series…something so crazy that u see it coming true in the last days. Did u like the books?

  2. Rebecca permalink*
    January 3, 2012 9:52 am

    I liked them. They’re really riveting.

    • Sarah permalink
      January 3, 2012 11:15 am

      I think I just may get them from the library. I hear they are making a movie of it…it will probably be R rated 😦 but at least I can check the books out. Thanks

      • Rebecca permalink*
        January 3, 2012 12:11 pm

        Oh I doubt the movie will be rated R. It’s a YA book.

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. January 3, 2012 10:35 am

    The Hunger Games are AWESOME!

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

