Skip to content

2011 Memories

December 31, 2011
1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Hosted a reunion for friends.  Dieted.  Started a fashion blog.  🙂  Had cheesecake at The Cheesecake Factory.  (you have no idea how big this was for me.  HUGE.) 🙂 Bought an iPhone. 😛

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

My New Year’s Resolution last year was to do things outside my comfort zone and not limit myself by my fears.  I think I did pretty good…. progress in baby steps. 🙂 I think for 2012 I’ll continue last year’s resolution.  Also, keep up with blogging, read more, become an expert in cooking Thai food, find a way to show love to everyone.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth or get pregnant?
I know several people that had babies 🙂

4. Did anyone close to you get married?
Yes 🙂  My friend Krista.

5. Did anyone close to you die?
My Aunt Nancy after a terrible battle with cancer 😦

6. Travel?
Boston for Krista’s wedding.  Chicago for my cousin’s wedding.

7. Did you move anywhere?
No.  I moved into a house in the country in October of 2010 and I’m very happy here.  I’m not moving for a while. 🙂

8. What was the best month?
Hmmm… Summer.  🙂

9. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
More money.  HA!  I think I’ll keep the rest of my wishes to myself…  🙂

10. What date(s) from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

January 14th, the day Aunt Nancy died and January 17th, the day of her funeral.  We had a big snowstorm, but still managed to pack the church, and people shared stories and memories for an hour. It was heartbreaking… and incredible.

11. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Dieting… Losing 12 pounds.  🙂

12. What was your biggest failure?
Failure to get married!  HAHAHAHA!!!  I really can’t think of anything.  I mean, I know I’ve had many failures, but what was my biggest?  And do I want to share it? I don’t think so. 🙂

13. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Other than minor things, colds, etc… nope!


14. What was the best thing you bought?

iPhone.  🙂

15. Whose behavior merited celebration?
ALL of my sister/roomies for being in school and having jobs full time.

16. Whose behavior made you appalled and/or depressed?
MY OWN.  I disappoint myself too much.

17. Where did most of your money go?
Groceries, Car payment, Rent, COST OF LIVING.

18. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Friends visiting this summer!  Krista getting married! Starting this blog! Losing weight! Decorating my house!

19. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Flight by Sutton Foster

20. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Happier.
ii. thinner or fatter? THINNER.
iii. richer or poorer? I don’t know.  I’m going to guess poorer.

21. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Reading.  Making money. Doing fun things with my sisters.  Raiding Stephanie’s closet.

22. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Worrying.

23. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve/Day?
New Year’s Eve I work during the day then we will have a “Degressive Dinner” at my parents house (Desert first!) and I will probably NOT stay up until midnight. Because I’m a baby and I like my sleep.  🙂  New Year’s Day we’ll go to church and then maybe a movie?  Something fun!

24. What was an unexpected surprise?
I honestly can’t think of anything…

25. Did you fall in love in 2011?
NO. See #12. 🙂

26. What was the best concert you’ve been to this year?
JJ Heller.  ❤

27. What was your favorite TV program?
Once Upon A Time

28. Do you dislike anyone now that you didn’t dislike this time last year?
No.  There aren’t really any people I dislike.

29. What was the best book you read?
Blackout and All Clear by Connie Willis.

30. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Adele. Bright Eyes. A Fine Frenzy. Ingrid Michaelson. Owl City. (I know.)

31. What did you want and get?
iPhone.  New Winter Coat. Patio Table and Chairs.

32. What did you want and not get?
I’m not sure… I think I’m pretty content.

33. What was your favorite film of this year?
Captain America.  HAHAHA!!!  and The Help.

34. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I went to church and out to lunch and then to a play.  It was fun.  Also, I freaked out about turning 29.

35. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Less worry over money, family, etc.

36. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
I’m kind of a mix of a lot of things… a little trendy, boho, chic, classic, vintage, rocker… kind of whatever I feel like that day. 🙂

37. What kept you sane?
My family, a few close friends, quiet time.

38. What political issue stirred you the most?
Probably the protests in Madison since it was so close to home.

39. Who did you miss?
My friends that don’t live near me 😦

40. Who was the best new person you met?
Everyone I meet is great!

41. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011:
I learned not to take the people close to me for granted. I want to make sure that the people I love know that I love them.  I want to live every day as if my life is a gift I’m giving to the world.  I want every person that crosses my door to know that I love them.

42. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Happy is the heart that still feels pain
Darkness drains and light will come again
Swing open up your chest and let it in
Let the love, love, love begin
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink
    December 31, 2011 10:02 am

    wow i learned alot about you in the couple of minutes i read this! very interesting and some things i feel the same on too 🙂

    • Rebecca permalink*
      December 31, 2011 10:45 am

      Crystal that’s awesome! By the way… I LOVE YOU!!!! 🙂

  2. Sarah permalink
    January 2, 2012 4:33 pm

    Oh I loved this! makes me want to do it too 🙂 I didn’t know you went to Krista’s wedding!!!

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

