Skip to content

Spicy Thai Noodles With Shrimp

December 30, 2011

Lately I’ve been obsessed with Thai food.  Also, shrimp.  🙂

Here’s what we had for dinner the other night:

Side Note: I’m not good with measurements.  Usually I eyeball measurements, so I’m mostly making guesses here.  Feel free to tweak to your own tastes.

2 Tsp. Crushed Red Pepper (I used a little more than this and it was SPICY.  We loved it, but if you don’t like things too spicy you might want to cut back on the red pepper)

1/2 diced onion

2 Tbsp. Olive Oil

Saute the red pepper and onion in the olive oil.  I use my Wok, but a skillet would work too.

Throw in 1 Bag of Cooked Shrimp and continue to saute until the shrimp is nice and toasted.

Meanwhile cook one box of Spaghetti Noodles according to directions on package.  (I use whole wheat noodles, but that’s just my preference)

Stir together:

1/4 cup Soy Sauce

1/4 cup Soy Vay Terriyaki Sauce  (If you’ve never used Soy Vay I highly recommend it. I get it at my grocery store and I use it a LOT. If you don’t have Soy Vay available, terriyaki sauce will work)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup peanut butter 

1 TBSP Ground Ginger (I like ginger… I probably put in more like 1 1/2 tbsps)

(Ok, so the above measurements are what I intended to do.  HA! I didn’t have enough honey so I put in extra peanut butter.  My live in food critics said they loved the noodles but commented that the peanut butter taste was strong.  🙂  So, next time I’ll make sure we have the honey.  If you don’t like peanut butter just leave it out and use equal parts of the other ingredients)

Pour your sauce into the Wok with the shrimp, pepper and onions.

When the pasta is thoroughly cooked toss it into the Wok too and stir it so the pasta is completely covered in sauce.  Put it on low to simmer and get the following ingredients ready.

5 or 6 Baby Carrots, shredded

1/2 onion, diced

1/4 chopped peanuts

Cilantro, chopped

Serve the noodles in bowls and top with the carrots, onion, peanuts and cilantro

SO. GOOD.

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

