Skip to content

How to: Live in a magical forest

December 16, 2011

What you need:

-Twigs, branches, sticks, tall grasses… pretty much anything that is probably already growing in your backyard or can be picked up at a park.

-Gold spray paint.  Everyone should own a can of gold spray paint.  That’s all I have to say.

What you do:

1.Get your sticks, branches, twigs, grass, whatever.

2. Lay them out to dry a little.  Especially this time of the year, things outside tend to be wet, so you’ll want to let them dry before you paint.

3. Paint!  Do this in a well ventilated spot!  Do not paint if you are pregnant!!!!!  Wear a mask over your mouth and nose if you have to!  I usually paint outside, or in my garage with the garage door open.  If I do it in the garage I always lay out a tarp (or some newspaper or cardboard or something) to cover the floor.  Just because this house doesn’t belong to me (It belongs to my parents and they’re pretty awesome landlords but still…).  If you don’t mind gold flecks of paint on your garage floor than don’t worry about it. 🙂  Spray paint dries extremely fast so you can basically let them sit for 10-ish minutes and they’re ready to use.

4. DECORATE!  There are so many things you can do with them!  Put them in vases around the house, stick them into planters on your front porch, tie them together to make gold frames to hang in windows or on walls (I did this at the flower shop and hung my twig frames in the front window to frame the Nativity set).  Basically, you can put them anywhere to bring some glitz to a space.  Personally I stuck them behind some books on my fireplace mantel.  So that when I sit in front of the fireplace there are gold branches above me.  It feels like a magical forest.  🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    December 16, 2011 9:57 am

    So is gold spray paint a part of your religion as well? I want to live in an enchanted forest all year round!

I want to meet you! Leave me a comment!

